Irani Cup: BCCI announce Rest of India squad to face Vidarbha; Ajinkya Rahane to lead

Posted On / /
Irani Cup: BCCI announce Rest of India squad to face Vidarbha; Ajinkya Rahane to lead

Ajinkya Rahane has been named the captain of the Rest of the India (ROI) squad for upcoming Irani Cup, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Thursday.

The Irani Cup will be played between Rest of India and Ranji Trophy champions Vidarbha in Nagpur from February 12 to 16.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked the Rest of India squad for the Z R Irani Cup to be played against Vidarbha, winners of the Ranji Trophy 2018-19 in Nagpur from February 12-16,” the BCCI statement read.

The star-studded 15-member ROI squad will see Ishan Kishan taking up wicket-keeping duties while
Tanveer Ul-Haq, Rinku Singh and Ronit More, who performed well in the recently concluded Ranji Trophy campaign, also received respective call-ups.

Vidarbha, on Thursday, completed back-to-back triumphs in the Ranji Trophy as they defeated Saurashtra by 78 runs on the fifth and final day in Nagpur.

Rest of India squad:

Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Anmolpreet Singh, Hanuma Vihari, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Krishnappa Gowtham, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ankit Rajpoot, Tanveer Ul-Haq, Ronit More, Sandeep Warrier, Rinku Singh, Snell Patel.

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: Ajinkya Rahane, Featured, India, News, Players, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.