Sri Lanka squad for ODI series against South Africa announced

Posted On / /
Sri Lanka squad for ODI series against South Africa announced

Sri Lanka Cricket, on Monday, announced their squad for the upcoming five-match ODI series against South Africa, including three uncapped players to the 17-member squad.

Off-break bowler Akila Dhananjaya, who hasn’t played since the home series against England last year, has made a return to the squad.

Right-handed batsman Oshada Fernando is among the fresh names in the squad, for the series which begins on March 3. The other two newcomers include 20-year-old ambidextrous bowler Kamindu Mendis and all-rounder Priyamal Perera.

Dinesh Chandimal, who was also dropped for the Test series against the Proteas continued to be excluded from the team for the ODIs. Danushka Gunathilaka, Asela Gunaratne, Dasun Shanaka, and Sekkuge Prasanna are also among those excluded.

The squad will be led by veteran fast-bowler Lasith Malinga, with wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella his deputy.

Sri Lanka is currently leading the two-match Test series against South Africa 1-0 after notching up a miraculous one-wicket victory in the first game at Kingsmead Cricket Ground in Durban.

Sri Lanka squad:

Lasith Malinga (captain), Niroshan Dikwella (wicketkeeper), Upul Tharanga, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Angelo Perera, Oshada Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Priyamal Perera, Isuru Udana, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lakshan Sandakan.

TAGS: , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Akila Dananjaya, Featured, Lasith Malinga, News, ODI, Players, Sri Lanka, Teams

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.