IPL 2019: Chennai Super Kings Team – Players, Support Staff, Schedule and Stats

Posted On / /

The defending champions Chennai Super Kings is the most successful team in IPL with a winning percentage of 61.07%. Indian former skipper MS Dhoni led the team into 7 tournament finals, winning the title thrice (2010, 2011 & 2018).

During the IPL auction last year, the team purchased Mohit Sharma for INR 5 crore. Apart from that, the franchise retained most of its players.

Key players include Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Bravo, Kedar Jadhav, and Rayudu. Australian all-rounder Shane Watson and South African batsman Faf du Plessis would be the preferred opening pair for the franchise. Shardul Thakur, Mohit Sharma, Deepak Chahar, and Lungi Ngidi would head the pace attack, while Jadeja, Karn Sharma, and Imran Tahir could be the spin options.

The team has a great record in IPL. They qualified for the playoffs in all IPL seasons. With such a strong team, most of the Indian betting sites consider them as favorites and predict that CSK will retain the title this year.

The team will start their IPL 2019 campaign on 23rd March as they take on Kohli led Royal Challengers Banglore in Chennai.

Home ground: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Owners: Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd. (N. Srinivasan)


MS Dhoni(c), Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, Murali Vijay, Sam Billings, Ambati Rayudu, Dhruv Shorey, N Jagadeesan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shane Watson, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, David Willey, Kedar Jadhav, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Harbhajan Singh, Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi, Mohit Sharma, KM Asif, Monu Kumar

Support Staff:

Head Coach: Stephen Fleming
Batting Coach: Micheal Hussey
Bowling Coach: Lakshmipathy Balaji


Matches played: 150
Matches won: 91
Winning rate: 61.07%

Title won: 3 (2010, 2011 and 2018)

Most runs: Suresh Raina (4985 runs)
Most wickets: Dwayne Bravo (136 wickets)


Saturday, March 23

8 pm IST: Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai

Tuesday, March 26

8 pm IST: Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings in Delhi

Sunday, March 31

8 pm IST: Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals in Chennai

Wednesday, April 3

8 pm IST: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings in Mumbai

Saturday, April 6

4 pm IST: Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab in Chennai

Tuesday, April 9

8 pm IST: Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders in Chennai

Thursday, April 11

8 pm IST: Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings in Chennai

Sunday, April 14

4 pm IST: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Chennai Super Kings in Kolkata

Wednesday, April 17

8 pm IST: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings in Hyderabad

Sunday, April 21

8 pm IST: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings in Bengaluru

Tuesday, April 23

8 pm IST: Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad in Chennai

Friday, April 26

8 pm IST: Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians in Chennai

Wednesday, May 1

8 pm IST: Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals in Chennai

Sunday, May 5

4 pm IST: Kings XI Punjab vs Chennai Super Kings in Mohali

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: Chennai Super Kings, IPL

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.