Australia announces 15-member squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

in Australia/David Warner/Steve Smith/World Cup

On Monday, Team Australia officially announced the 15-member Australian side for the ICC World Cup 2019. The tournament will feature 10 teams and is set to begin on 30th May in England and Wales.

Good news for David Warner and former skipper Steve Smith as they return to the team after completing 1-year ban from international cricket. Both of them are currently playing at the Indian Premier League for their respective franchise.

Aaron Finch has been picked to lead the side, with Pat Cummins serving as vice-captain. Alex Carey has been included as the specialist wicket-keeper in the unit.

Few names that were left out include in-form Peter Handscomb and pacer Josh Hazlewood. Hazlewood is recovering from an injury and that might be one of the factors for his exclusion from the squad.

Australian team selector Trevor Hohns said, “Given the depth of talent and competition for spots there were a number of tough calls we had to make to settle on our squad of 15“.
Here is the complete list:

  • Aaron Finch (c)
  • Jason Behrendorff
  • Alex Carey (wk)
  • Nathan Coulter-Nile
  • Pat Cummins
  • Usman Khawaja
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Shaun Marsh
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Jhye Richardson
  • Steve Smith
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • David Warner
  • Adam Zampa

LOVED it? LIKE it!

This article was first published on
For latest cricket news and updates, visit

Share it with a Cricket fan!