New Zealand announces 15-member squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Posted On / /

The New Zealand team is all set for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, scheduled to begin on 30th May in England and Wales. On Wednesday, the team management announced the 15-member squad for the tournament.

Kane Williamson is appointed as the captain of the team with Tom Latham as the wicket-keeper. Tom Blundell has also been included in the squad as a back-up wicket-keeper.

Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner would lead the spin department, whereas Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult, and Matt Henry would be the seam options.

The World Cup is the pinnacle of cricket and to be the first nation to name a squad for the tournament is really exciting”, said Blackcaps coach Gary Stead.

I’d like to congratulate all the players selected. To represent your country at a World Cup is a huge honor and I know the entire squad and support staff are looking forward to the challenges ahead.”, he added.

Here is the complete list for New Zealand’s 15-member squad for the 2019 World Cup:

  • Kane Williamson (c)
  • Tom Blundell
  • Trent Boult
  • Colin de Grandhomme
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Martin Guptill
  • Matt Henry
  • Tom Latham
  • Colin Munro
  • Jimmy Neesham
  • Henry Nicholls
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Tim Southee
  • Ross Taylor

TAGS: , , ,

CATEGORY: Kane Williamson, New Zealand, World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.