World Cup 2019: ICC picks team of tournament

Posted On / /
World Cup 2019: ICC picks team of tournament

The biggest cricketing event of 2019, featuring 10 teams and 48 matches, came to an exciting end at Lord’s on Sunday. In a Super Over nail-biter, England won the title per the ICC’s boundary count rule as the match ended up in a tie.

After the finals, ICC revealed their official Playing XI of the tournament. New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson, who also won the ‘Player of the Series’ award, was chosen the captain of the side.

For the opening pair, ICC picked up English batsman Jason Roy and India’s vice-captain Rohit Sharma. With a total of 648 runs, Rohit was the highest run scorer of the tournament.

All-rounders Shakib Al Hasan and Ben Stokes were picked for the middle order, along with Australia’s rising star Alex Carey.

The last over finisher for England, Jofra Archer made into the team along with India’s Jasprit Bumrah. Mitchell Starc, who was the highest wicket taker of the tournament (27 wickets) was also selected in the team.

India’s captain Virat Kohli and wicket-keeper M.S. Dhoni couldn’t find a spot into the Playing XI.

A big surprise was the exclusion of Australian opener David Warner.

ICC’s Team of the Tournament:
Jason Roy, Rohit Sharma, Kane Williamson (c), Joe Root, Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Stokes, Alex Carey (wk), Mitchell Starc, Jofra Archer, Lockie Ferguson, Jasprit Bumrah

TAGS: , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: Kane Williamson, MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.