After controversial ICC World Cup 2019 finals, Big Bash League removes boundary count rule in Super-Over

Posted On / /

The ninth season of Big Bash League is scheduled from 17 December 2019 to 8 February 2020. The tournament will feature 8 teams playing a total of 57 matches.

The tournament committee has announced some new rules, parting ways with the ‘boundary-count‘ rule that decided the winner in the ICC World Cup 2019 finals. Instead, the organizers have decided to allow multiple Super Overs to settle the tie in the finals.

Alistair Dobson, who is the head of BBL, told that the step was taken to make cricket fans happy. “The Super Over has been a discussion point globally after the ICC Cricket World Cup Final,” said Dobson.

“The WBBL04 Semi-Final between the Sydney Sixers and Melbourne Renegades gave us valuable insight into the feelings of teams and fans towards Super Overs,” told Dobson.

“We hope that allowing for multiple Super Overs in WBBL and BBL Finals will provide our teams and fans with the best possible experience. We look forward to another competitive season for both leagues and believe we have a strong system in place should a nail-biting knockout match arise,” he added.

After the World Cup, there was a lot of debate about the hidden ‘boundary count’ clause. A few months back, ICC’s CEO told that the Cricket Committee would review the issue in their meeting early next year. That could result in a change of rules for the ICC World T20 in Oct 2020.

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: England, New Zealand, News, World Cup

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author: provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at