CPL 2019: Shah Rukh Khan to attend the opening game between Trinbago Knight Riders & St Kitts and Nevis Patriots

Posted On

The Caribbean Premier League 2019 is all set to begin from 4 September. In this edition, the ‘Biggest Party in sport’ will feature six teams and a total of 34 matches. The final game will be held on 12 October at Brian Lara Stadium in Trinidad.

For the first match, defending champions, Trinbago Knight Riders will take on St Kitts and Nevis Patriots at Queens Park Oval. The Trinbago Knight Riders have been one of the most successful teams in the league winning the tournament thrice (2015, 2017, 2018).

Trinbago Knight Riders owner and Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan has reached Trinidad and will be attending the opening game. King Khan is also the co-owner of the Indian Premier League’s Kolkata Knight Riders team along with Metha Group (Jay Mehta, Juhi Chawla).


Shah Rukh Khan is in Trinidad and will be at the opening game of CPL 2019! Big respect for King Khan!! #CPL19 #Biggestpartyinsport #TKRvSKP

Posted by CPL T20 on Wednesday, 4 September 2019

Back in 2015, Shah Rukh and Jay Metha purchased a stake in ‘Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel’. After winning the tournament that year, the team’s name was changed to Trinbago Knight Riders.

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.