ICC announces ODI team of the year 2019; picks four Indian players

Posted On / /
ICC announces ODI team of the year 2019; picks four Indian players

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced their awards for the year 2019. The apex cricketing body also came up with their One Day International (ODI) team of the year. Four Indians have made it into the team – the most from any nation.

Rohit Sharma, who also won the ‘ICC ODI Cricketer of the year,’ is the first opener in ICC’s ODI team. West Indies’ left-handed batsman Shai Hope had an impressive 2019, and therefore, he has been picked as Rohit’s partner.

Indian captain Virat Kohli won the ‘2019 Spirit of Cricket Award’ for his gesture to the crowd for applauding Steven Smith in a World Cup match. Kohli was the leading run-scorer in 2019 after his compatriot Rohit. Without a doubt, he has made it to the ICC’s ODI team of the year. He has also been named as the captain of the team.

Pakistan’s Babar Azam comes in at No.4. He is followed by New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson. Kane took his team to the 2019 WC finals.

England’s all-rounder Ben Stokes dominated the last year irrespective of the formats, and that’s why he was rewarded as the ‘ICC Cricketer of the year.’ ICC even picked Stokes in the ODI team along with another English cricketer Jos Buttler.

Among bowlers, India’s pacer Mohammed Shami and spinner Kuldeep Yadav made their way to ICC’s ODI XI. Shami was the leading ODI wicket-taker (42) in 2019.

Australia’s speedster Mitchell Starc and Kiwi paceman Trent Boult complete the bowling attack.

ICC’s ODI Team of the Year:

Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope, Virat Kohli (c), Babar Azam, Kane Williamson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav.

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: ICC, News, ODI, Virat Kohli

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
CricketTimes.com provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at contact@crickettimes.com.