IND vs SL 1st T20I, Preview: Head to head stats, Team news, When and where to watch

Posted On / /
IND vs SL 1st T20I, Preview: Head to head stats, Team news, When and where to watch

After the exciting series with West Indies in 2019, the Indian team will get back to business in New Year as they lock horns against Sri Lanka in a three-match T20I series starting on Sunday (January 05).

The Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati will host the opening match. As the T20 World Cup is getting near, both the teams will look to test their bench strength in order to find the best combination.

Head-to-head stats

Total ODIs played: 16
India won: 11
Sri Lanka won: 5
No Result: 0
Tied: 0

Match details

Date: January 05, 2020 (Sunday)
Time: 07:00 PM (IST)
Venue: Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati

Team News


Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah and opener Shikhar Dhawan have been drafted back into the squad, whereas Rohit Sharma, who had an incredible 2019, has been given a rest. However, MS Dhoni fans will still miss him on the field. Deepak Chahar has been ruled out due to a stress fracture in his lower back.

Dhawan will open with KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer will bat at no. 4, Rishabh Pant and Shivam Dube will be India’s finishers, while Ravindra Jadeja will fill the all-rounder’s slot at no. 7.

Shardul Thakur, Bumrah, and Navdeep Saini likely to hold the pace attack, whereas Kuldeep Yadav might find a place ahead of Yuzvendra Chahal again, thanks to his hat-trick against West Indies.

Meanwhile, Indian captain Virat Kohli needs just one run to surpass fellow teammate Rohit Sharma to become the highest run-scorer in the shortest format. Currently, both players have scored 2633 runs in T20Is.

India’s Probable XI: Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (c), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini.

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka will go with Danushka Gunathilaka and Niroshan Dickwella as the openers, with Kusal Perera batting at no. 3.

Good news for the Lankan fans is that both Angelo Mathews and Lasith Malinga have returned to the side.

Mathews might bat at no. 4 to hold the middle-order. Lahiru Kumara and Malinga will be the pacers, whereas the wrist spinning duo of Wanindu Hasaranga and Lakshan Sandakan might get the place in the playing XI.

Sri Lanka’s Probable XI: Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Malinga (c).

Live Streaming and Broadcast details

Telecast Details

  • Star Sports: India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Maldives, and Nepal
  • Willow TV: United States of America
  • Sky Sports Cricket: United Kingdom
  • SuperSport: South Africa
  • FOX Sports: Australia
  • DD National: India

Live Streaming

Hotstar: Online streaming in the Indian subcontinent

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: India, Lasith Malinga, News, Sri Lanka, T20, Virat Kohli

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author: provides Latest Cricket News, Live Scores, Schedule, Results, ICC Rankings, Stats, and Videos. Write to us at