IPL 2020: All you need to know about the All-Star match

Posted On / /

The IPL 2020 will see an All-Star match for the first time since the inception of the tournament, which is slated to be held three days before the opening encounter on March 29. The game will be a one-off fixture, comprising players from all the eight franchises.

As per the reports in ESPNCricinfo.com, the two teams that will take to the field in the All-Star exhibition game will be formed with players from four franchises in the north and east of India – Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Capitals, Rajasthan Royals and the Kolkata Knight Riders comprising one team, while the other four teams from the west and south zone in the Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Sunrisers Hyderabad will contribute in the formation of the second team.

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly and IPL Governing Council (IPL GC) Chairman Brijesh Patel put forth the idea of this All-Star game, and the decision was finalized at the recent meeting held in New Delhi.

This means MS Dhoni and AB de Villiers – two big names in the world cricket and Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli – will play in the same team representing the South and West zone.

Meanwhile, both the tournament opener and the final will be played in Mumbai, the home base of reigning champions Mumbai Indians.

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: AB de Villiers, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, India, IPL, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, MS Dhoni, Mumbai Indians, News, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.