RP Singh reveals his all-time IPL XI, no place for Suresh Raina

Posted On / /
RP Singh reveals his all-time IPL XI, no place for Suresh Raina

Amid coronavirus outbreak, all cricketing events have been cancelled, and due to it, players are forced to go in self-isolation. To pass the time, many currents as well as former cricketers, are engaging with their fans and followers on social media platforms.

In the process, many players are interacting with fans via Q/A sessions on Twitter. Some have also come up with their best XI of Indian Premier League (IPL). Former opener Wasim Jaffer disclosed his all-time IPL XI a few hours back.

Following the pattern, former Indian pacer RP Singh, who was recently named in the three-member panel of Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) by BCCI, also took to Twitter and revealed his all-time best IPL XI.

RP actually surprised lots of fans by leaving out a few stalwart players in the lucrative league. For example, RP didn’t include second-highest run-scorer (5368) in IPL, Suresh Raina.

For the openers, the Raebareli-born went with Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)’s pocket-dynamite David Warner and third-highest run-scorer (4398) Rohit Sharma of Mumbai Indians (MI).

For the number three position, RP picked IPL’s highest run-scorer and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)’s captain Virat Kohli. The Delhi-born has clubbed 5412 runs in 177 games.

Similarly, for the following place, the left-armer went with another genius cricketer, AB de Villiers. Considered as the most valuable asset of RCB, De Villiers with 4395 runs is the third-highest run-scorer amongst overseas players.

RP picked his close friend and skipper of Chennai Super Kings (CSK), MS Dhoni, for the fifth position. With 209 sixes, Dhoni has smashed the highest number of sixes amongst Indian players and third overall.

For the following position, RP went with power-striker of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Andre Russell. The batting phenom has the best batting strike-rate in the history of the cash-rich league. Russell has scored 1400 runs in 64 games with a mind-boggling strike-rate of 186.41.

Among bowlers, RP picked two spinners and as three pacers. For the spin department, the 34-year-old went with Ravichandran Ashwin and Amit Mishra of Delhi Capitals. With 125 wickets in 139 games, Ashwin is the seventh-highest wicket-taker in IPL. Mishra, on the other hand, has bagged 157 scalps in 147 matches which is the second-highest tally in the lucrative league.

Swing bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar and the yorker specialist duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga are the speedsters in RP’s all-time XI.

Bhuvneshwar has taken 133 wickets in 117 games – sixth-most by any bowler. Likewise, Bumrah has been a tremendous discovery of the IPL. The right-armer hasn’t played as many games as the abovementioned bowlers, but he has shown the calibre and potential. Burmah has picked 82 wickets in 77 matches.

Malinga, meanwhile, has been a valuable asset for MI. The ace Sri Lankan bowler is the highest wicket-taker in the history of IPL. The Galle-born has taken 170 wickets in 122 matches.

For the 12th position, RP has chosen, CSK’s all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja. The left-armer has taken 108 scalps in 170 games, while he has 1927 runs to his name.

Here is RP Singh’s all-time IPL XI:

David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni, Andre Russell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Ravindra Jadeja (12th man).

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: India, IPL, News, Rudra Pratap Singh, Suresh Raina, T20

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.