Aakash Chopra picks his all-time India-Pakistan Test XI

Posted On / /
Aakash Chopra picks his all-time India-Pakistan Test XI

The Coronavirus pandemic has stopped cricketing action on the field, and due to it many former and current cricketers are showing their completely different side as in the free time they are heading towards social media and engaging in various activities.

Some cricketers are involved in a Q/A session on microblogging website Twitter, while some have participated in a live chat session on Instagram with other cricketers. Few are interacting with fans via their YouTube channels. The latest in the list is former Indian opener Aakash Chopra who has been releasing his videos in the regular interval during the lockdown period.

The cricketer-turned-commentator has come up with his all-time India-Pakistan combined Test XI for his fans in his own show Akashvani. Chopra picked Little Master Sunil Gavaskar and destructive batsman, Virender Sehwag as the openers.

For the number 3 and 4, Chopra went with the cricketing icon Sachin Tendulkar and wall of Indian cricket Rahul Dravid. Tendulkar scored 15921 runs in red-ball cricket while Dravid clubbed 13288 runs.

For the next two slots, Chopra picked Pakistani legend Javed Miandad and former skipper Inzamam-ul-Haq. Miandad accumulated 8832 runs in his Test career while Inzamam scored just two runs less from Miandad.

Former India captain MS Dhoni was selected as the wicket-keeper batsman by Chopra in his unique team. For the all-rounders, Chopra went with veteran Kapil Dev and Imran Khan.

The remaining two spots were fulfilled by legendary pacer Wasim Akram and all-time great spinner Anil Kumble. Akram picked 414 wickets in the longest format while Kumble grabbed 619 scalps in his Test career.

However, despite having Kapil and Dhoni in the team, Chopra picked Imran as the captain of his special XI.

Here is Aakash Chopra’s combined India-Pakistan Test XI:

Virender Sehwag, Sunil Gavaskar, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Javed Miandad, Inzamam-ul-Haq, MS Dhoni (wk), Kapil Dev, Imran Khan (c), Wasim Akram, Anil Kumble.

TAGS: , ,

CATEGORY: Aakash Chopra, India, News, Pakistan

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.