Shoaib Malik powers Jaffna Stallions to inaugural LPL title win

Posted On / /
  • Jaffna Stallions wins the LPL 2020 title by defeating Galle Gladiators in the final.

  • Shoaib Malik was adjudged the 'Player of the Match' for his all-round show.

Shoaib Malik powers Jaffna Stallions to inaugural LPL title win
Thisara Perera, Shoaib Malik (Pic Source: Lanka Premier League)

Jaffna Stallions defeated Galle Gladiators by 53 runs in the final of Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2020 to lift the trophy.

Pakistan veteran Shoaib Malik, with his all-round performance, guided the Thisara Perera-led side to win the inaugural LPL tile.

After opting to bat first, the Stallions posted 188/6 on the board in their stipulated 20 overs. Captain Perera scored 39 off just 14 balls and provided a much-needed momentum to his team. While Malik scored a 35-ball 46, Dhananjaya de Silva contributed with 33 off just 20 balls.

In reply, Gladiators’ skipper Bhanuka Rajapaksa hammered 40 off 17 and Azam Khan smashed a quickfire 36 to breathe life into the chase but it was short-lived. After Khan’s dismissal, Gladiators hobbled to 135-9 with the result beyond doubt long before Malik (2/13) delivered the last ball of the match.

Brief Scores:

Jaffna Stallions 188/6 (20) [Shoaib Malik 46 (35), Thisara Perera 39 not out (14); Dhananjaya Lakshan 3/36] beat Galle Gladiators 135/9 (20) [Bhanuka Rajapaksa 40 (17), Azam Khan 36 (17); Shoaib Malik 2/13] by 53 runs.

Awards winners:

  • Man of the Final – Shoaib Malik (Jaffna Stallions)
  • Emerging Player of the Tournament – Dhananjaya Lakshan (Galle Gladiators)
  • Player of the Tournament – Wanindu Hasaranga (Jaffna Stallions)
  • Fair Play Award – Dambulla Viiking

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: Shoaib Malik

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.