T20 World Cup 2021: Kevin Pietersen reveals his ‘Team of the Tournament’

Posted On / /
  • Kevin Pietersen named team of the tournament for T20 World Cup 2021.

  • Pietersen went with as many as three Pakistan players in his special team.

T20 World Cup 2021: Kevin Pietersen reveals his ‘Team of the Tournament’
Kevin Pietersen picks his team of the tournament for T20 World Cup 2021 (Image Source: Twitter)

Former England batter Kevin Pietersen has revealed his playing XI of the recently concluded T20 World Cup 2021. The English cricket legend picked three players from Pakistan, two each from England, Sri Lanka and South Africa.

Pietersen named only one player from finalists Australia and New Zealand. Notably, Australia defeated New Zealand in the final of the multi-team tournament by eight wickets to win their first-ever ICC trophy of the T20 World Cup.

Starting with the openers, Pietersen went with Mohammad Rizwan and Jos Buttler. Both Rizwan and Buttler were amongst the leading run-getters of the global competition. While Rizwan made 281 runs in six matches, Buttler scored 269 in as many games.

Pietersen picked Babar Azam for number three, followed by Charith Asalanka and Aiden Markram to complete the top five. Azam finished the T20 World Cup 2021 as the top run-scorer with 303 runs to his name in six fixtures. Similarly, Asalanka and Markram scored 231 and 162 runs, respectively.

Among the all-rounders, Pietersen went with Moeen Ali and Wanindu Hasaranga, while Adam Zampa was named the specialist spinner. Notably, Hasaranga and Zampa were the leading wicket-takers in the tournament. While Hasaranga bagged 16 scalps, Zampa picked up 13 wickets.

Pietersen picked Shaheen Afridi, Trent Boult and Anrich Nortje to form the fast-bowling unit in his team of the tournament. Boult was the highest wicket-taker among pacers in T20 World Cup 2021. He bagged 13 scalps in 7 matches. Similarly, Nortje took nine wickets, and Shaheen picked up seven wickets in the competition.

Here is Kevin Pietersen’s team of the T20 World Cup 2021:

Mohammad Rizwan, Jos Buttler, Babar Azam, Charith Asalanka, Aiden Markram, Moeen Ali, Wanindu Hasaranga, Adam Zampa, Trent Boult, Anrich Nortje, Shaheen Shah Afridi


CATEGORY: Kevin Pietersen

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at akshat.gaur@crickettimes.com or aks333.in@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.