Indian pacer Mohammed Siraj conceded a boundary while trying to run out South Africa’s David Miller in the first innings of the second ODI on Sunday, October 9.
The incident took place in the 48th over as Siraj looked to help India finish on a high and ensure that the Proteas do not get away with the match. He bowled a good delivery to Keshav Maharaj, who got beaten by the pace, and the ball went straight into the gloves of wicket-keeper Sanju Samson.
Samson tossed the ball to Siraj, who then threw it at stumps towards the non-striker’s end in what appeared to be an attempt to run out Miller. The ball, however, missed the stumps and went for four runs in byes.
Things would have ended there, but Siraj went to umpire Virender Sharma to complain about the overthrow runs, arguing that his intention was not to run out the batsman. While many saw the comedy in this incident, few Twitter users lashed out at Siraj.
— Movies & Cricket 👐 (@athiest1122) October 9, 2022
— Prayag (@theprayagtiwari) October 9, 2022
As far as the second ODI in Ranchi is concerned, South Africa won the toss and opted to bat first at JSCA International Stadium Complex. The visitors posted 278/7 on the board in their stipulated 50 overs, thanks to some brilliant hitting from Reeza Hendricks (74 off 76) and Aiden Markram (79 off 89).
In reply, India comfortably reached the set target in 45.5 overs with seven wickets in hand. While Shreyas Iyer (113* off 111) smashed his second ODI century, Ishan Kishan played a scintillating knock of 93 (84) with the help of 4 fours and 7 sixes.