Prithvi Shaw returns in T20Is as BCCI names India squad for limited-overs series against New Zealand

Posted On / /
  • Prithvi Shaw has been added in India's T20I squad against New Zealand.

  • Shaw recently smashed his maiden triple century in a Ranji Trophy game.

Prithvi Shaw returns in T20Is as BCCI names India squad for limited-overs series against New Zealand
Prithvi Shaw returns to India squad (Image Source: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on Friday, announced the squads for the upcoming home T20I and ODI series against New Zealand, starting January 18 in Hyderabad.

Explosive opening batter Prithvi Shaw, who has been scoring plenty of runs in the domestic circuit, has made his comeback into the T20I side, which will be captained by Hardik Pandya as regular skipper Rohit Sharma will only lead India in the preceding ODI series. Shaw has been in scintillating form in the domestic arena and recently smashed his maiden triple-hundred (379) in the ongoing Ranji Trophy 2022-23.

However, the likes of KL Rahul and Axar Patel, who sizzled in the second ODI against Sri Lanka, will be unavailable for both the ODIs and T20Is versus Black Caps due to family commitments. As a result, KS Bharat and Shahbaz Ahmed have been included in the ODI outfit.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked India’s squads for the upcoming Mastercard New Zealand Tour of India that comprises three ODIs and as many T20Is. KL Rahul & Axar Patel were unavailable for the New Zealand Home series due to family commitments,” said BCCI in an official media release.

India’s ODI squad against New Zealand

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wk), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), Hardik Pandya (vc), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik.

India’s T20I squad against New Zealand

Hardik Pandya (c), Suryakumar Yadav (vc), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar.

TAGS: , , , , ,

CATEGORY: India, Prithvi Shaw

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Weekly Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.