IPL 2020: List of records created by KXIP captain KL Rahul during his unbeaten 132 against RCB

Posted On / /
  • Here are all the records created by KL Rahul with his unbeaten century against RCB.

  • Rahul's ton steered KXIP to 97-run victory over Kohli's men.

IPL 2020: List of records created by KXIP captain KL Rahul during his unbeaten 132 against RCB
KL Rahul (Pic Source: IPL)

King XI Punjab skipper KL Rahul propelled his side to their first win of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 with a record-breaking century against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Dubai on Thursday (September 25).

Rahul, who opened the batting for KXIP along with Mayank Agarwal, raced to his half-century off 36 balls. In the second half of the innings, Rahul cut loose to complete his hundred off just 62 deliveries.

After his century, the 28-year-old faced seven balls in which he smashed 32 runs. Rahul’s unbeaten 132 boosted Punjab to finish with 206/3 in their stipulated 20 overs. In reply, Virat Kohli-led RCB were never in the chase and were bundled out for 109 in 17 overs.

Records created by KL Rahul with his unbeaten century:

  • KL Rahul’s unbeaten 132 is the highest individual score by a captain, a wicketkeeper and also by an Indian in the IPL. Rishabh Pant’s 128 not out for Delhi Daredevils [now Delhi Capitals] in 2018 against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) was the previous highest IPL score by an Indian and also by a keeper. Virender Sehwag’s 119 for Daredevils against Deccan Chargers in 2011 was the previous highest IPL score by a skipper.
  • 132* by Rahul is now the highest score by a keeper-captain in the T20 format. The previous highest was Ishan Kishan’s unbeaten 113 in the 2018-19 Syed Mushtaq Ai T20 tournament against Manipur.
  • Rahul became the first Indian player to score T20 centuries in four different countries.
  • Rahul completed 2000 runs in the IPL during the match against RCB. He took just 60 innings to reach the landmark; the fastest Indian by surpassing Sachin Tendulkar (63).
  • Rahul’s unbeaten 132 is also the highest individual score in T20 cricket format in the UAE. The previous highest was William Porterfield’s unbeaten 127 for Ireland against the USA.
  • The 132-run knock by Rahul is also the highest T20 score as captain by an Asian surpassing Dasun Shanaka’s 131* in Sri Lanka’s domestic T20 tournament.

TAGS: , , , , , ,

CATEGORY: IPL, Punjab Kings

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Anirudh is a die-hard cricket fan, loves playing, watching and talking about cricket. Cricket is his Religion & 'Sachin Tendulkar' his GOD. His motto of life is Eat, Sleep, Cricket, REPEAT!! You can write to him at anirudh@crickettimes.com or anirudhsingh2904@gmail.com and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.