Australia vs India 1st Test: Preview – Pitch Report, Playing XI and Head to Head record

Posted On / /
  • Australia will face India in the first Test of Border-Gavaskar Trophy from Thursday.

  • Cameron Green is set to make his Test debut for Australia.

Australia vs India 1st Test: Preview – Pitch Report, Playing XI and Head to Head record
Tim Paine, Virat Kohli (Image Source: Twitter)

The first Test of the much anticipated Border-Gavaskar Trophy is ready to get underway at Adelaide Oval from Thursday (December 17).

The contest will be a Day-Night encounter to be played with the pink ball. It will be the second pink-ball Test for India. They have earlier played a similar fixture against Bangladesh and won the match.

Australia, on the other hand, have beaten New Zealand, South Africa, England and Pakistan in day-night matches.

Both teams head into the 4-match Test leg after wins in the limited-overs’ series. While Australia took the ODI series 2-1, India won the T20I leg 2-1.

Pitch report

The wicket at Adelaide offers assistance for batsmen, as in general seamers don’t get enough movement off of the pitch. The role of spinners becomes crucial, mostly on days four and five.

Playing combinations


Ahead of the 4-match series opener, Australian skipper Tim Paine has hinted that Matthew Wade might open in the game along with Joe Burns. Not to mention, Burns along with Marcus Harris were included in the squad due to unavailability of David Warner and Will Pucovski.

Just like Paine, Australia head coach Justin Langer made it clear that young all-rounder Cameron Green will make his Test debut in Adelaide.

Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, and skipper Paine should be part of the middle order.

The pace department will be managed by the trio of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Josh Hazlewood, with Nathan Lyon as the lone specialist spinner.

AUS XI: Joe Burns, Matthew Wade, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Travis Head, Tim Paine (c/wk), Chris Green, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins.


The visitors have already revealed their playing XI ahead of the mega Test. Prithvi Shaw has been picked over Shubman Gill to open the batting with Mayank Agarwal.

Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane complete the middle-order. While the talented Hanuma Vihari fills the No. 6 slot.

Skipper Kohli has decided to go with Wriddhiman Saha over Rishabh Pant as the wicket-keeper batsman for the first Test. Pant’s flamboyant hundred in the practice game against Australia A did not work in his favour.

Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah have been selected as the frontline pacers, while Ravichandran Ashwin will play as the lone spinner.

IND XI: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

Head to head record:

Matches played: 98 | Australia: 42 | India: 28 | Draw: 27 | Tied: 1

TAGS: , , , ,

CATEGORY: Australia

For latest cricket news and updates, subscribe to our Daily Newsletter.

About the Author:
Akshat is just another cricket fan who’s grown up watching the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Cricket runs in his veins. Cover drive is his favorite sight, and a ball meeting the middle of the bat is his favorite sound. You can write to him at or and follow him on Twitter, Facebook & Linkedin.